A World Heritage Site is a place (such as a building, city, complex, desert, forest, island, lake, monument, or mountain) that is listed by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) as being of special cultural or physical significance. The list is maintained by the international World Heritage Programme administered by the UNESCO World Heritage Committee, composed of 21 UNESCO member states which are elected by the General Assembly.

The programme catalogues, names, and conserves sites of outstanding cultural or natural importance to the common heritage of humanity. Under certain conditions, listed sites can obtain funds from the World Heritage Fund. The program was founded with the Convention Concerning the Protection of the World’s Cultural and Natural Heritage, which was adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO on 16 November 1972. Since then, 191 states parties have ratified the convention, making it one of the most adhered to international instruments. .

UNESCO references each World Heritage Site with an identification number; however, new inscriptions often include previous sites now listed as part of larger descriptions. Consequently, the identification numbers exceed 1,200, even though there are fewer on the list.

While each World Heritage Site remains part of the legal territory of the state wherein the site is located, UNESCO considers it in the interest of the international community to preserve each site.

World Heritage Sites in Punjab Pakistan are:

  1. Rohtas Fort (Jhelum)
  2. Shalamar Gardens (Lahore)
  3. Lahore Fort (Lahore)
  4. Texila (Rawalpindi District)

List of Tentative World Heritage sites in Punjab:

  1. Wazir Khan Mosque (Lahore)
  2. Badshahi Mosque (Lahore)
  3. Tombs of Jahangir, Asif Khan and Akbari Sarai (Lahore)
  4. Hiran Minar and Tank (Sheikhupura)
  5. Tomb of Shah Rukn-e-Alam
  6. Tombs of Bibi Jawindi, Baha’al-Halim and Ustead and the Tomb and Mosque of Jalaluddin Bukhari
  7. Archaeological Site of Harappa